After home inspector education, there’s another step that leads to earning a license: the home inspector exam. In most states that require licensure, the National Home Inspector Licensing Exam fits the bill. States that don’t issue licenses have no exam requirements at all. The remaining five have state-level exams. Here’s what you need to know about them.
In Nevada, home inspectors are also called Inspectors of Structures. This state requires prospective licensees to complete at least 50 hours of approved education for a General Inspector license. For a Master Inspector, the education requirement increases to 60 hours.
The Nevada state home inspector licensing exam is administered by Pearson VUE. Check the Pearson site after creating an exam candidate account to find the most up-to-date exam fee structure.
#2: South Dakota
Home inspectors in South Dakota are licensed in two stages. First, they’re required to complete at least 40 hours of pre-licensing education and apply as a Registered Home Inspector. After working in the field for at least one year, inspectors can supply an experience log and apply for licensing.
The South Dakota home inspection exam covers pre-licensing education plus the state-level License Law Manual, says the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation. When you’re ready to take the exam, go to AMP Candidate Services and select the following choices from three drop-down menus:
- Real Estate
- South Dakota Real Estate Examination Program
- Home Inspector Examination
AMP Assessment Services administers the exam, which costs $133.
Illinois home inspectors begin with a pre-licensing education course that offers at least 77 hours of training. That’s followed by no fewer than five supervised field inspections. Once complete, prospective inspectors can apply for licensure with the state and download the exam study guide.
The Illinois Home Inspector Examination is administered by Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP) at official AMP Assessment Centers for a fee of $125.
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation licenses home inspectors in the state of Florida. Candidates are required to take and pass a pre-license training program that offers at least 120 credit hours.
The Florida Home Inspection Exam (FHIE) is administered by the Florida Association of Building Inspectors (FABI). The central location for testing is Orlando, but there are other sites throughout the state. Register with FABI to sit for the exam and pay the fee. The cost is $100 for Associate Inspectors and for students of approved affiliate schools. For people who aren’t FABI members, the fee is $200.
#5: South Carolina
In South Carolina, home inspectors are licensed by the state’s Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation. Licensing candidates can earn their education in a couple of ways. Either complete an education program such as ICA School with at least 50 credit hours or perform 50 home inspections for pay.
With pre-licensing requirements out of the way, candidates are ready to sit for the South Carolina Home Inspection Exam either online or in person. The fee is $75 payable to PSI Exams.
Many states that once had their own exams have since aligned with the National Home Inspector Examination. That adds more consistency throughout the industry, but state-specific exams do serve a purpose. For example, issues that are unique to a state or at least more common might require more intensive study and testing to ensure inspectors can serve the market well.
Whether your state follows the national exam or one at the state level, ICA School can help prepare you for it. Enroll now in our home inspector training course and start your new career path today.