top utility menu

Home Inspection Podcasts

Home Inspection Podcast – January 5, 2017

Happy New Year to all! In our January Home Inspection Podcast, Steve talks about the recent merger between ASHI (the American Society of Home Inspectors) and NAHI (the National Association of Home Inspectors). Our home inspection podcasts are meant to be informative for individuals who are interested in becoming home inspectors, or folks who are already home inspectors. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – July 29, 2016

In our July Home Inspection Podcast, Steve talks about tools you may want to have in order to perform your home inspections. He also talks a little more about the home inspection report system Report Form Pro from www.homeinspectionform.com which is included in our online home inspection training course. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – May 17, 2016

In our May Home Inspection Podcast, Steve talks about home inspection reports, forms, checklists, and various options that are available. He discusses several report formats including one from www.homeinspectionform.com which is included in our online home inspection training course. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – March 25, 2016

In our March Home Inspection Podcast, Steve discusses a timely topic – what have you done for yourself lately, to improve your life and the life of your family. 2015 was the best year since 2006 for existing home sales and now might be the right time for you to capitalize on that to improve your life and the life of your family. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – January 25, 2016

In our January Home Inspection Podcast, Steve responds to a question from Tom in Orlando Florida. Tom asks about how to deal with competition in the home inspection industry. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – December 8, 2015

In our December Home Inspection Podcast, Steve discusses a home inspection question we received from Kathy in Fresno, California – who is a recent ICA graduate who is performing quite a few inspections. Essentially Kathy asks how to handle different clients. Every home inspection client is different. Some handle your inspection findings in stride and others get worked up at every little thing you say. The key, is how you handle those situations – and the answer to that lies within this month’s podcast. Even veteran inspectors can benefit from this episode. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – October 6, 2015

In our October Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins addresses the top issues that home inspectors may tend to overlook, along with the top issues that may result in complaints or claims against home inspectors. Special thanks to Grant S. who sent in this question via email and a big thank you to Bob Pearson of Allen insurance group for sharing his knowledge with us on this month’s topic. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – September 8, 2015

In this month’s Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins responds to a question from an inspector named Anthony from Chicago. Anthony’s question deals with referrals from real estate agents. Specifically, why do some real estate agents seem to really enjoy working with him and send him plenty of referrals, when at the same time other agents don’t seem to care for his approach and or inspection report. This is one issue that every home inspector will find themselves pondering at one point or another. So much so that this podcast should be considered required listening for any home inspector who has their own business. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – July 1, 2015

In this month’s Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins discusses an issue that most successful home inspectors will run into at one time or another. That is, I’m so busy that I can’t keep up, should I hire another home inspector to work for me – and if so, how do I compensate that person, etc. With the way existing home sales are going right now, this is coming up more often. Click here to read a news article talking about the increased demand for home inspectors. It’s a nice companion piece to go with this month’s podcast. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – April 15, 2015

In this month’s Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins discusses different types of insurance that home inspectors may or may not choose to carry to cover their home inspection business. Steve also discusses different ways to structure the business in order to limit your liability. If you’re interested in becoming a home inspector and are worried at all about liability, this will be a good episode for you to listen to and should help put your mind at ease. Especially when you hear Steve mention that out of the thousand or so home inspectors he knows personally there are only a handful that have ever been involved in any litigation. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – March 15, 2015

In this month’s Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins discusses some more home inspection “war stories” – some of the most funny and interesting experiences he has run into on home inspections. We normally wouldn’t double up on a topic but we had such a great response from last month’s home inspection podcast, we figured we’d go for round two! Raccoons, squirrels, and fighting buyers and sellers aren’t things you run into very often, but if you’ve inspected as many homes as Steve has, you’re bound to run into them. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – February 1, 2015

In this month’s Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins discusses home inspection “war stories” – some of the most funny and interesting experiences he has run into on home inspections. Be prepared for a good laugh! If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3

Home Inspection Podcast – December 1, 2014

In this month’s Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins discusses the best ways for home inspectors to increase their knowledge and continue their education. Also, a quick story about a home inspector who finds something growing in an attic, and what do you do if you break something during a home inspection. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – November, 1 2014

In this month’s Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins discusses the history of the home inspection industry and ties that in with how the home inspection membership organizations work – membership organizations like the American Society of Home Inspectors, National Association of Home Inspectors, and the California Real Estate Inspectors Association. Quick reminder – we (Inspection Certification Associates) are an affiliate school for all of the home inspection membership organizations mentioned above, as well as the FABI – the Florida Association of Building Inspectors. If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – October, 1 2014

In this month’s Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins discusses the scope of the home inspection.  What do we inspect for in a home inspection?  How does a home inspection differ from a code inspection?  Do I need to go on the roof during a home inspection?  Do I estimate the cost of repairs during a home inspection?  These questions and many more answered in our October Home Inspection Podcast.  If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com .

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)

Home Inspection Podcast – September 1, 2014

In our inaugural Home Inspection Podcast, Inspection Certification Associates’ course author and Director of Education Steve Preins discusses some of the biggest reasons individuals typically choose to become a home inspector.  Other questions answered include the following:  How much money does a home inspector make?  What background is necessary to become a home inspector?  Am I too old to become a home inspector?  These questions and many more answered in our September Home Inspection Podcast.  If you have any questions or topics that you might want Steve to cover in a future Home Inspection Podcast, just email those to podcast@icaschool.com.

PLAY PODCAST


Download MP3 (right click and select Save As..)